Key Stage 4 Curriculum

In Key Stage 4 , we are prpare pupils to sit AQA GCSE exams in French, Germand and Spanish.  The GCSE course is basd on the exam board specification, which can be found on the AQA website:




The GCSE's build upon and develop the skills introduced in KS3.  Pupils will be encouranged to work at all skill areas, deppening their knowledge of vocabulary and linguistic structures, referring to different time frames whilst expressing and understanding opinions and reasons for them.  They wil also gain further knowledge of the countries and regions where the foreign language is spoken.

The course is assessed through four assessments which take place atthe end of Year 11 -

  • Listening - 25%
  • Reading (including traslation into English) - 25%
  • Speaking - 25%
  • Writing (including translation into target language) - 25%

The course is split into 3 themes which are then sub-divided unto 12 units.  All twelve units will be taught over the two years, and any topics could be examined.  There are regular exam-style assessments over the period of the course.

Theme 1: Identity and culture

  • Unit 1: Me, my family and friends
  • Unit 2: Technology in everyday life
  • Unit 3: Free-time activities
  • Unit 4: Customs and festivals

Theme 2: Local, national, international and global areas of interest

  • Unit 5: Home, town, neighbourhood and region
  • Unit 6: Social issues
  • Unit 7: Global issues
  • Unit 8: Travel and tourism

Theme 3: Current and future study and employment

  • Unit 9:   My studies
  • Unit 10: Life at school and college
  • Unit 11: Education post-16
  • Unit 12: Jobs, career choices and ambitions